Looks like someone hacked the SL email list somehow (some many clever minds turned to mischief). It is not from Linden Lab. Would seem to be an attempt to overload SL support page. But looks like Linden has a problem with email to avatar list security or someone is scrapping a web page where this is posted.
Email comes from "no-reply@secondlife.com" Subject = Warning or Suspension of Your Second Life Account
text =
This email is notification of action regarding your Second Life account, Hadrian York, for violation of the Second Life Terms of Service or Community Standards. The violation in question occurred on November 12, 2008 in the region of Disl. Violation: Community Standards: Disturbing the Peace Every Resident has a right to live their Second Life. Disrupting public welcome areas or scheduled events, the use of repetitive sounds or gestures, deliberate and obstructive prim littering, or intentionally slowing server performance using resource intensive scripts or lights are examples of Disturbing the Peace. Prim littering is not allowed in Second Life. Action: No additional action is being taken at this time. Appeal Process: The decision to suspend your Second Life access was reached after investigation of your use of the Second Life software and service. If you would like to appeal your suspension, you may contact Second Life Support, in writing, at the address below: Second Life Support Linden Lab 945 Battery Street San Francisco, CA 94111
Trackback URL for this post:
http://rezzable.com/trackback/929





Comments
When I saw this in someone's
Wed, 11/12/2008 - 17:30 — Crap Mariner (not verified)When I saw this in someone's Plurk yesterday (Zaara), I figured it was one of two things: an avatar Spambot or a hack of the table linking avatar names to email addresses.
I'm hoping this isn't the latter, because that violates one of the founding pillars of SL: privacy. It also means LL can't deliver on the Community Standard of not revealing 1L information.
Okay, so only those not concerned about privacy or total dingbats don't use forwarding disposable gmail or other mail provider accounts as a firewall against such mistakes, but still - if this is a hack, it's of serious concern.
Does the rest of the header information show that it's actually coming from a LL mail server?
I expect them to not be
Wed, 11/12/2008 - 18:01 — kesseret (not verified)I expect them to not be secure in my email address since in the last 3 years there's been 2 compromises of their user accounts credit card information.I should know, since I've had to change the numbers on my SL credit card twice due to 'compromises'. One LL contacted us about, the other my credit card company contacted me about.So, yeah, I don't expect them to even keep email addresses secure.And then they wonder why premium accounts are down? If you can't keep my bank information safe, or even email information how I can trust them with it???
Post new comment